spittin’ about being abroad

in my passport, yes my passport Martin Luther King Jr. has a quote on page 13, but we are saturated with thoughts, polemics, and speeches from this great black man, i am more interested in the roots of another black radical. by the name anna julia cooper, page 27.

yep that’s the page that is stamped in my passport that says “the cause of freedom is not the cause of a race or a sect, a party or a class…. it is the cause of humankind, the very birthright of humanity. there is a sensation i get when i feel her strong and weak works rock the pages of my passport.

on Korea, On Brazil, On the Philippines, On England, On France, On the Netherlands, on other European places from her and my ancestry were enslaved by them. I take with my Martin and Anna Julia when i venture abroad and bring back with me notions of Fannie Lou and Malcolm.

my sweet body all chalked with tattoos symbolizing and eulogizing the death of my la familia is a spectacle to white american surveyors when i talk about being a black american abroad. eyes envelope me in the presence of mine own fellow american loves, and for this i stand firm in thinking about what it means to be a border crosser. 

Leave a Reply

