Korea in Black and White

Strolling down the Namgong a white man stops me to ask what it is like to be black. I pause for the cause. I think why tell me what it is like to be white, be worth all the dreams, thoughts, and material gain in the world. The only thing that comes out of my mouth is utter amazement that since I have been in South Korea for a year, all that I have been consumed with is learning how to please the good folk at my university.

The above is an excerpt from the piece I am writing about the lived experience of a black man in Korea in the 21st century. The 38th parallel, the shelling of Yongpeon Do, the first Black American president, and all of the politics of representation that come with reading the world through blackness come to surface when you read this piece of work. Please stay soon.

JJ

Leave a Reply

